Hawaii Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in Hawaii.
- Employer establishments
- 32,911
- 2023
- Employees
- 520,043
- New applications, 12 months
- 18,484
- -3.6% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accommodation and food services | 4,044 | 97,559 | $41,775 |
| Administrative and support services | 1,920 | 71,783 | $48,655 |
| Health care and social assistance | 3,763 | 71,314 | $73,637 |
| Retail trade | 4,395 | 65,686 | $40,357 |
| Construction | 2,924 | 31,002 | $85,625 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 976 | 29,200 | $63,865 |
| Professional and technical services | 3,464 | 24,209 | $81,983 |
| Other services | 3,522 | 22,570 | $41,761 |
| Finance and insurance | 1,533 | 20,093 | $87,906 |
| Wholesale trade | 1,412 | 17,179 | $72,099 |
| Educational services | 603 | 16,859 | $46,778 |
| Real estate and rental | 2,093 | 13,091 | $64,522 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 575 | 11,087 | $35,452 |
| Manufacturing | 723 | 10,293 | $52,424 |
| Management of companies | 231 | 6,966 | $103,438 |
| Information | 557 | 6,945 | $81,063 |
| Utilities | 79 | 3,713 | $124,628 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 45 | 233 | $51,086 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 10 | 197 | $81,437 |
Total annual payroll: $30.27B
Largest public companies in Hawaii
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Matson, Inc.MATX | $3.34B | $444.8M |
| 2 | Hawaiian Electric Industries IncHE | $3.09B | $126.3M |
| 3 | First Hawaiian, Inc.FHB | $880.8M | $276.3M |
| 4 | Bank of Hawaii CorpBOH | $121.9M | $205.9M |
| 5 | Central Pacific Financial CorpCPF | $51.82M | $77.48M |
| 6 | Cyanotech CorpCYAN | $24.21M | -$3.2M |
| 7 | Maui Land & Pineapple Co IncMLP | $19.46M | -$10.58M |
| 8 | Pono Capital Four, Inc.PONO | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in Hawaii
6 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bank of Hawaii | $23.81B | $20.97B | 48 |
| 2 | First Hawaiian Bank | $23.65B | $20.17B | 45 |
| 3 | American Savings Bank, National Association | $9.05B | $8.24B | 35 |
| 4 | Central Pacific Bank | $7.5B | $6.7B | 27 |
| 5 | Hawaii National Bank | $871.7M | $772.3M | 10 |
| 6 | Finance Factors, Ltd. | $683.7M | $519.3M | 13 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 5,512
- Power units
- 23,406
- Drivers
- 24,908
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 18,484 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 60 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (+22.4% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Honolulu County | 20,890 | 331,937 | $61,232 |
| Maui County | 5,000 | 62,683 | $52,863 |
| Hawaii County | 4,400 | 54,716 | $51,490 |
| Kauai County | 2,281 | 27,099 | $51,587 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023