Checked
Forsyth County Business Data
Businesses, industries, trucking companies, banks and bankruptcies in Forsyth County, North Carolina.
- Employer establishments
- 9,141
- 2023
- Employees
- 190,157
- Average annual pay
- $59,876
- Nonemployer businesses
- 33,189
- $1.56B receipts, 2024
Industries
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retail trade | 1,355 | 22,010 | $35,167 |
| Health care and social assistance | 967 | 25,501 | $63,774 |
| Professional and technical services | 957 | 8,446 | $80,450 |
| Other services | 941 | 7,341 | $34,408 |
| Construction | 912 | 8,019 | $68,410 |
| Accommodation and food services | 895 | 19,641 | $21,008 |
| Administrative and support services | 578 | 10,527 | $37,077 |
| Finance and insurance | 551 | 11,601 | $88,900 |
| Real estate and rental | 510 | 2,359 | $66,153 |
| Wholesale trade | 415 | 9,490 | $76,297 |
| Manufacturing | 295 | 17,418 | $74,658 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 241 | 4,943 | $53,174 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 175 | 4,099 | $30,642 |
| Information | 124 | 2,068 | $70,667 |
| Educational services | 121 | 11,900 | $73,188 |
| Management of companies | 75 | 24,407 | $83,729 |
| Utilities | 13 | 291 | $121,326 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 8 | 33 | $45,758 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 3 | 58 | $66,328 |
Total annual payroll: $11.39B
Establishments by number of employees
2023
- 1 to 4 employees4,72051.6%
- 5 to 9 employees1,58417.3%
- 10 to 19 employees1,21813.3%
- 20 to 49 employees1,01811.1%
- 50 to 99 employees3393.7%
- 100 to 249 employees1761.9%
- 250 to 499 employees540.6%
- 500 to 999 employees170.2%
- 1,000 or more employees150.2%
Trucking companies
1,429 active carriers with 6,127 power units and 6,377 drivers
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Company | Power units | Drivers | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salem Carriers IncUSDOT 229354 | 317 | 349 | For hire |
| Best Dedicated LLCUSDOT 1247640 | 312 | 312 | For hire |
| Swto LLCUSDOT 943113 | 225 | 448 | For hire |
| Parrish Tire CompanyUSDOT 47425 | 173 | 173 | Private |
| Novant Health IncUSDOT 1796552 | 163 | Not reported | Passenger |
| Traffic Control Safety Services IncUSDOT 2388506 | 158 | 65 | Private |
| Arundel Company LLCUSDOT 399145 | 143 | 114 | For hire |
| R J Reynolds Tobacco CoUSDOT 47855 | 139 | 85 | Private |
| Amarr CoUSDOT 570366 | 132 | 185 | Private |
| Reliable Tank Line LLCUSDOT 351602 | 112 | 109 | For hire |
Banks headquartered in Forsyth County
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|
| Piedmont Federal Savings Bank | $1.32B | $973.7M | 10 |
Business bankruptcies
North Carolina by county12 business cases (4 under Chapter 11) and 376 cases in all were filed in the 12 months ending June 2026.
County Business Patterns counts employer establishments by the county where they are located. The Census Bureau adds small random noise to protect confidentiality, and some small cells are withheld (shown as Not reported).
Source: U.S. Census Bureau County Business Patterns, FMCSA, FDIC and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023