Montana Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in Montana.
- Employer establishments
- 42,566
- 2023
- Employees
- 409,312
- New applications, 12 months
- 33,237
- +15.4% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 4,488 | 74,903 | $61,840 |
| Retail trade | 4,706 | 62,888 | $37,795 |
| Accommodation and food services | 3,850 | 58,010 | $25,032 |
| Construction | 6,766 | 34,284 | $71,530 |
| Professional and technical services | 4,386 | 23,100 | $73,637 |
| Manufacturing | 1,393 | 21,825 | $64,517 |
| Administrative and support services | 2,231 | 21,704 | $38,516 |
| Other services | 3,607 | 18,592 | $39,821 |
| Finance and insurance | 2,057 | 16,826 | $81,952 |
| Wholesale trade | 1,582 | 15,826 | $69,490 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 1,372 | 13,263 | $55,534 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 1,387 | 13,128 | $28,862 |
| Information | 697 | 7,801 | $74,878 |
| Real estate and rental | 2,529 | 7,441 | $51,350 |
| Educational services | 475 | 6,876 | $33,641 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 325 | 5,299 | $112,730 |
| Utilities | 198 | 2,957 | $103,137 |
| Management of companies | 138 | 2,919 | $99,401 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 350 | 1,651 | $83,171 |
Total annual payroll: $21.72B
Largest public companies in Montana
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fair Isaac CorpFICO | $1.99B | $651.9M |
| 2 | First Interstate Bancsystem IncFIBK | $1.18B | $302.1M |
| 3 | Xtant Medical Holdings, Inc.XTNT | $133.9M | $4.97M |
| 4 | Bridger Aerospace Group Holdings, Inc.BAER | $122.8M | $4.14M |
| 5 | Eagle Bancorp Montana, Inc.EBMT | $108.4M | $14.84M |
| 6 | Glacier Bancorp, Inc.GBCI | $101.1M | $239M |
| 7 | Local Bounti CorporationLOCL | $48.37M | -$94.38M |
| 8 | PSQ Holdings, Inc.PSQH | $18.22M | -$36.61M |
| 9 | CFN Enterprises Inc.CNFN | $36.3K | -$6.5M |
| 10 | Almonty Industries Inc.ALM | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in Montana
35 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Glacier Bank | $31.58B | $24.86B | 261 |
| 2 | First Interstate Bank | $25.79B | $21.73B | 274 |
| 3 | Stockman Bank of Montana | $7.75B | $6.21B | 47 |
| 4 | Opportunity Bank of Montana | $2.12B | $1.81B | 30 |
| 5 | Independence Bank | $1.39B | $1.2B | 10 |
| 6 | The Yellowstone Bank | $1.34B | $1.12B | 10 |
| 7 | TrailWest Bank | $1.11B | $860.2M | 15 |
| 8 | Bank of Bridger, National Association | $802.7M | $729.8M | 12 |
| 9 | Farmers State Bank | $790.3M | $664.3M | 11 |
| 10 | American Bank | $630.4M | $564M | 6 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 9,035
- Power units
- 33,419
- Drivers
- 31,287
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 33,237 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 53 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (+23.3% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gallatin County | 6,828 | 59,252 | $59,491 |
| Yellowstone County | 6,060 | 75,637 | $57,475 |
| Flathead County | 5,092 | 45,165 | $51,608 |
| Missoula County | 4,816 | 54,136 | $50,657 |
| Lewis and Clark County | 2,603 | 27,265 | $52,571 |
| Cascade County | 2,472 | 30,050 | $48,632 |
| Ravalli County | 1,715 | 11,260 | $44,085 |
| Silver Bow County | 1,208 | 13,583 | $49,923 |
| Lake County | 991 | 7,817 | $47,036 |
| Park County | 943 | 5,399 | $52,203 |
| Lincoln County | 671 | 4,520 | $37,768 |
| Richland County | 498 | 4,321 | $59,090 |
| Hill County | 493 | 5,092 | $47,160 |
| Carbon County | 474 | 2,373 | $34,405 |
| Custer County | 454 | 4,264 | $48,699 |
| Fergus County | 444 | 3,428 | $47,451 |
| Madison County | 427 | 5,218 | $44,472 |
| Beaverhead County | 399 | 2,643 | $40,504 |
| Sanders County | 394 | 2,585 | $38,561 |
| Jefferson County | 342 | 1,959 | $46,140 |
| Deer Lodge County | 312 | 2,957 | $49,956 |
| Dawson County | 295 | 2,404 | $58,237 |
| Valley County | 276 | 2,183 | $45,878 |
| Stillwater County | 263 | 3,021 | $79,370 |
| Teton County | 232 | 1,457 | $57,008 |
| Glacier County | 230 | 1,846 | $55,367 |
| Broadwater County | 207 | 1,114 | $40,940 |
| Roosevelt County | 206 | 1,722 | $40,269 |
| Sweet Grass County | 187 | 1,361 | $66,411 |
| Pondera County | 182 | 1,103 | $39,978 |
| Big Horn County | 181 | 1,774 | $51,971 |
| Rosebud County | 178 | 2,214 | $62,432 |
| Powell County | 176 | 1,451 | $62,689 |
| Toole County | 174 | 1,428 | $49,002 |
| Chouteau County | 153 | 772 | $41,918 |
| Sheridan County | 152 | 832 | $44,338 |
| Mineral County | 144 | 809 | $37,320 |
| Blaine County | 135 | 1,036 | $57,605 |
| Phillips County | 135 | 796 | $37,698 |
| Fallon County | 127 | 952 | $69,735 |
| Granite County | 119 | 588 | $44,451 |
| Musselshell County | 118 | 923 | $64,678 |
| Meagher County | 93 | 406 | $39,384 |
| Daniels County | 76 | 572 | $53,935 |
| Liberty County | 69 | 347 | $37,127 |
| Powder River County | 68 | 249 | $35,799 |
| Judith Basin County | 60 | 277 | $39,379 |
| Wheatland County | 60 | 388 | $36,624 |
| McCone County | 57 | 380 | $48,839 |
| Prairie County | 35 | 149 | $36,752 |
| Wibaux County | 31 | 148 | $39,291 |
| Garfield County | 29 | 128 | $35,547 |
| Carter County | 28 | 197 | $35,782 |
| Treasure County | 17 | 91 | $47,396 |
| Petroleum County | 11 | 24 | $21,125 |
| Golden Valley County | 10 | 50 | $28,240 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023