South Dakota Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in South Dakota.
- Employer establishments
- 29,106
- 2023
- Employees
- 383,805
- New applications, 12 months
- 13,814
- +17.3% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 2,829 | 74,743 | $63,822 |
| Retail trade | 3,838 | 54,784 | $34,389 |
| Manufacturing | 1,034 | 47,333 | $61,039 |
| Accommodation and food services | 2,696 | 42,968 | $22,830 |
| Construction | 3,802 | 25,640 | $68,763 |
| Finance and insurance | 2,044 | 24,370 | $79,125 |
| Wholesale trade | 1,592 | 20,550 | $74,183 |
| Other services | 2,986 | 15,640 | $36,538 |
| Professional and technical services | 2,214 | 14,227 | $68,400 |
| Administrative and support services | 1,350 | 12,832 | $43,485 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 1,298 | 11,714 | $54,327 |
| Management of companies | 152 | 8,263 | $86,654 |
| Educational services | 287 | 7,768 | $31,028 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 738 | 7,744 | $25,108 |
| Information | 463 | 6,035 | $61,790 |
| Real estate and rental | 1,356 | 4,588 | $52,025 |
| Utilities | 159 | 2,926 | $104,434 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 77 | 999 | $91,622 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 157 | 629 | $55,855 |
Total annual payroll: $20.68B
Largest public companies in South Dakota
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Black Hills CorpBKH | $2.31B | $291.6M |
| 2 | NorthWestern Energy Group, Inc.NWE | $1.61B | $181.1M |
| 3 | Pathward Financial, Inc.CASH | $839.9M | $185.9M |
| 4 | Daktronics IncDAKT | $838.7M | $45.38M |
| 5 | South Dakota Soybean Processors LLCSDSYA | $503.8M | $17.74M |
| 6 | Dakota Gold Corp.DC | Not reported | -$29.54M |
| 7 | Bitgo Holdings, Inc.BTGO | Not reported | Not reported |
| 8 | KPET Ultra Paceline CorpKPET | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in South Dakota
56 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Citibank, National Association | $1.98T | $1.55T | 667 |
| 2 | Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | $1.91T | $1.56T | 4,161 |
| 3 | The Bancorp Bank, National Association | $9.21B | $7.49B | 1 |
| 4 | Pathward, National Association | $7.31B | $5.95B | 1 |
| 5 | Dacotah Bank | $4.92B | $4.35B | 32 |
| 6 | First Bank & Trust | $4.78B | $4.17B | 22 |
| 7 | First PREMIER Bank | $3.64B | $2.89B | 13 |
| 8 | First Dakota National Bank | $3.39B | $2.96B | 17 |
| 9 | Sunrise Banks, National Association | $2.78B | $2.51B | 5 |
| 10 | American Bank & Trust | $2.25B | $1.95B | 20 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 6,447
- Power units
- 30,035
- Drivers
- 30,823
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 13,814 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 28 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (-6.7% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minnehaha County | 6,262 | 125,353 | $58,623 |
| Pennington County | 4,137 | 52,402 | $51,101 |
| Lincoln County | 2,184 | 29,283 | $60,659 |
| Lawrence County | 1,248 | 11,109 | $44,448 |
| Brown County | 1,245 | 17,306 | $49,742 |
| Codington County | 1,210 | 15,001 | $45,670 |
| Brookings County | 958 | 15,151 | $47,225 |
| Meade County | 805 | 6,662 | $63,199 |
| Davison County | 727 | 11,057 | $49,476 |
| Yankton County | 707 | 11,776 | $50,043 |
| Hughes County | 632 | 6,453 | $48,746 |
| Beadle County | 573 | 6,840 | $48,538 |
| Union County | 555 | 9,844 | $71,181 |
| Butte County | 380 | 2,393 | $39,806 |
| Lake County | 339 | 3,907 | $51,994 |
| Custer County | 327 | 1,536 | $47,382 |
| Charles Mix County | 299 | 2,388 | $40,801 |
| Clay County | 298 | 3,742 | $42,837 |
| Grant County | 284 | 3,666 | $53,089 |
| Turner County | 261 | 1,451 | $47,533 |
| Hutchinson County | 239 | 2,149 | $47,191 |
| Roberts County | 231 | 1,846 | $41,516 |
| Day County | 226 | 1,372 | $43,939 |
| Brule County | 222 | 1,999 | $40,237 |
| Hamlin County | 213 | 1,725 | $59,251 |
| Walworth County | 210 | 1,607 | $44,100 |
| Fall River County | 209 | 1,722 | $60,008 |
| Tripp County | 200 | 1,513 | $42,534 |
| Spink County | 197 | 1,311 | $50,854 |
| Kingsbury County | 188 | 1,254 | $55,741 |
| McCook County | 184 | 944 | $46,570 |
| Gregory County | 180 | 1,194 | $35,894 |
| Bon Homme County | 176 | 1,173 | $40,773 |
| Moody County | 158 | 1,499 | $50,010 |
| Deuel County | 143 | 1,038 | $52,187 |
| Marshall County | 140 | 1,184 | $50,240 |
| Hand County | 135 | 1,053 | $51,628 |
| Clark County | 125 | 738 | $42,423 |
| Stanley County | 119 | 967 | $47,692 |
| Edmunds County | 116 | 847 | $55,942 |
| Perkins County | 113 | 734 | $41,192 |
| Dewey County | 103 | 778 | $42,905 |
| Douglas County | 101 | 771 | $46,332 |
| Potter County | 97 | 568 | $45,340 |
| Hanson County | 90 | 455 | $52,846 |
| Lyman County | 87 | 621 | $33,496 |
| Oglala Lakota County | 84 | 1,963 | $43,623 |
| Haakon County | 82 | 680 | $42,968 |
| Aurora County | 78 | 522 | $41,897 |
| McPherson County | 73 | 352 | $40,747 |
| Miner County | 73 | 509 | $41,489 |
| Jerauld County | 71 | 1,463 | $68,588 |
| Sully County | 67 | 304 | $59,135 |
| Faulk County | 64 | 412 | $42,553 |
| Bennett County | 60 | 607 | $40,048 |
| Todd County | 59 | 916 | $49,205 |
| Sanborn County | 58 | 409 | $42,553 |
| Campbell County | 56 | 309 | $46,278 |
| Jackson County | 53 | 280 | $32,039 |
| Harding County | 43 | 344 | $65,817 |
| Jones County | 43 | 207 | $44,884 |
| Hyde County | 40 | 454 | $48,872 |
| Corson County | 39 | 289 | $35,349 |
| Ziebach County | 31 | 212 | $41,325 |
| Mellette County | 21 | 156 | $30,494 |
| Buffalo County | 11 | 135 | $28,956 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023