Vermont Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in Vermont.
- Employer establishments
- 20,841
- 2023
- Employees
- 256,460
- New applications, 12 months
- 8,773
- +19.5% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 2,150 | 48,409 | $61,154 |
| Retail trade | 2,937 | 37,491 | $39,232 |
| Accommodation and food services | 1,915 | 32,546 | $28,378 |
| Manufacturing | 1,005 | 29,246 | $64,669 |
| Construction | 2,870 | 15,177 | $69,775 |
| Educational services | 422 | 14,445 | $38,225 |
| Professional and technical services | 2,074 | 13,524 | $89,031 |
| Wholesale trade | 687 | 10,261 | $77,818 |
| Administrative and support services | 1,252 | 10,258 | $41,575 |
| Other services | 2,016 | 9,305 | $41,647 |
| Finance and insurance | 941 | 9,218 | $97,941 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 492 | 7,071 | $27,954 |
| Information | 490 | 6,224 | $108,740 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 440 | 5,420 | $54,304 |
| Real estate and rental | 820 | 3,109 | $52,307 |
| Management of companies | 69 | 2,436 | $92,757 |
| Utilities | 66 | 1,262 | $122,005 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 50 | 623 | $74,305 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 127 | 403 | $52,896 |
Total annual payroll: $14.36B
Largest public companies in Vermont
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Casella Waste Systems IncCWST | $1.84B | $7.87M |
| 2 | Union Bankshares IncUNB | $75.79M | $11.08M |
| 3 | Community BancorpCMTV | $60.88M | $16.97M |
| 4 | BETA Technologies, Inc.BETA | $35.62M | -$745.9M |
| 5 | Advanced Oxygen Technologies IncAOXY | $47.44K | $103K |
| 6 | Teucrium Commodity TrustBTCK | Not reported | -$26.49M |
| 7 | Texas Precious Metals TrustYSAG | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in Vermont
12 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northfield Savings Bank | $1.58B | $1.33B | 13 |
| 2 | Union Bank | $1.56B | $1.1B | 21 |
| 3 | Community National Bank | $1.17B | $983.4M | 12 |
| 4 | Ledyard National Bank | $1.07B | $874.4M | 11 |
| 5 | Passumpsic Savings Bank | $934.5M | $753M | 12 |
| 6 | The Bank of Bennington | $661.9M | $494.3M | 5 |
| 7 | The National Bank of Middlebury | $553.5M | $500.2M | 7 |
| 8 | Peoples Trust Company of St. Albans | $395.4M | $348.8M | 5 |
| 9 | Business Bank, The | $352.2M | $310.8M | 2 |
| 10 | The Brattleboro Savings and Loan Association | $296.4M | $262.3M | 5 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 2,369
- Power units
- 11,102
- Drivers
- 11,236
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 8,773 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 26 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (-21.2% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chittenden County | 5,665 | 88,131 | $64,485 |
| Washington County | 2,118 | 26,122 | $54,868 |
| Rutland County | 1,945 | 22,482 | $49,879 |
| Windsor County | 1,926 | 19,255 | $56,045 |
| Windham County | 1,657 | 19,316 | $46,730 |
| Bennington County | 1,258 | 14,352 | $48,680 |
| Addison County | 1,158 | 13,471 | $51,389 |
| Franklin County | 1,101 | 13,639 | $50,428 |
| Lamoille County | 1,001 | 11,129 | $45,911 |
| Caledonia County | 913 | 8,746 | $49,998 |
| Orleans County | 782 | 8,184 | $45,110 |
| Orange County | 711 | 6,040 | $53,012 |
| Grand Isle County | 170 | 673 | $48,710 |
| Essex County | 107 | 586 | $45,894 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023