West Virginia Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in West Virginia.
- Employer establishments
- 35,839
- 2023
- Employees
- 551,240
- New applications, 12 months
- 19,468
- +24.5% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 5,019 | 139,754 | $59,120 |
| Retail trade | 5,696 | 77,727 | $32,601 |
| Accommodation and food services | 3,684 | 65,992 | $20,480 |
| Manufacturing | 1,060 | 48,350 | $65,021 |
| Administrative and support services | 1,531 | 32,878 | $42,145 |
| Construction | 3,149 | 27,174 | $63,842 |
| Professional and technical services | 2,694 | 24,395 | $68,292 |
| Other services | 4,255 | 22,425 | $33,865 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 438 | 20,020 | $102,866 |
| Finance and insurance | 1,999 | 18,531 | $69,666 |
| Wholesale trade | 1,279 | 16,759 | $64,162 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 1,132 | 16,726 | $58,283 |
| Educational services | 297 | 8,261 | $30,632 |
| Information | 752 | 7,090 | $61,367 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 765 | 6,993 | $20,623 |
| Utilities | 234 | 6,183 | $101,952 |
| Real estate and rental | 1,422 | 5,823 | $48,964 |
| Management of companies | 202 | 5,461 | $71,241 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 202 | 621 | $40,528 |
Total annual payroll: $28.4B
Largest public companies in West Virginia
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | United Bankshares IncUBSI | $1.69B | $464.6M |
| 2 | Wesbanco IncWSBC | $1.27B | $223.1M |
| 3 | American Public Education IncAPEI | $648.9M | $31.56M |
| 4 | Energy Services of America CorpESOA | $411M | Not reported |
| 5 | Infinity Natural Resources, Inc.INR | $356.4M | $13.84M |
| 6 | MVB Financial CorpMVBF | $175.3M | $26.92M |
| 7 | City Holding CoCHCO | $74.29M | $130.5M |
| 8 | Potomac Bancshares IncPTBS | $12.57M | -$1.01M |
| 9 | Kronos Advanced Technologies IncKNOS | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in West Virginia
41 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | WesBanco Bank, Inc. | $27.75B | $21.77B | 218 |
| 2 | City National Bank of West Virginia | $6.76B | $5.43B | 97 |
| 3 | MVB Bank, Inc | $3.5B | $3.12B | 7 |
| 4 | Clear Mountain Bank | $1.03B | $887.5M | 12 |
| 5 | Potomac Bank | $980.2M | $847.9M | 9 |
| 6 | Pendleton Community Bank, Inc. | $849.7M | $718.6M | 16 |
| 7 | CNB Bank, Inc. | $805.7M | $652.5M | 9 |
| 8 | Citizens Bank of West Virginia, Inc. | $772.5M | $678.7M | 9 |
| 9 | Putnam County Bank | $704.2M | $617.5M | 5 |
| 10 | The Poca Valley Bank, Inc. | $666.2M | $603.3M | 9 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 11,163
- Power units
- 37,672
- Drivers
- 37,595
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 19,468 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 96 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (+15.7% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kanawha County | 4,396 | 74,799 | $56,183 |
| Monongalia County | 2,481 | 50,567 | $58,662 |
| Cabell County | 2,331 | 45,742 | $51,473 |
| Wood County | 1,901 | 29,785 | $45,597 |
| Berkeley County | 1,859 | 29,303 | $51,584 |
| Harrison County | 1,781 | 29,386 | $57,418 |
| Raleigh County | 1,713 | 26,532 | $46,182 |
| Ohio County | 1,320 | 23,642 | $52,727 |
| Putnam County | 1,248 | 19,036 | $58,505 |
| Mercer County | 1,154 | 17,231 | $46,067 |
| Marion County | 1,114 | 14,249 | $50,365 |
| Jefferson County | 976 | 13,457 | $41,880 |
| Greenbrier County | 888 | 10,528 | $42,865 |
| Fayette County | 710 | 7,593 | $47,222 |
| Randolph County | 650 | 8,790 | $39,999 |
| Logan County | 595 | 8,673 | $58,944 |
| Hancock County | 544 | 7,481 | $46,077 |
| Nicholas County | 541 | 5,911 | $44,829 |
| Upshur County | 513 | 6,101 | $50,206 |
| Preston County | 509 | 5,012 | $45,413 |
| Marshall County | 481 | 9,654 | $55,405 |
| Jackson County | 472 | 6,630 | $50,535 |
| Mineral County | 456 | 6,849 | $48,036 |
| Wayne County | 434 | 6,343 | $53,452 |
| Brooke County | 366 | 6,041 | $45,183 |
| Lewis County | 363 | 4,622 | $48,268 |
| Mingo County | 326 | 3,211 | $52,498 |
| Mason County | 324 | 3,946 | $56,980 |
| Hampshire County | 310 | 2,593 | $37,678 |
| Wetzel County | 308 | 3,890 | $44,743 |
| Hardy County | 294 | 6,014 | $43,813 |
| Wyoming County | 267 | 2,508 | $39,224 |
| Boone County | 241 | 4,340 | $68,435 |
| Grant County | 241 | 2,678 | $44,807 |
| Braxton County | 232 | 2,754 | $39,728 |
| Morgan County | 232 | 2,173 | $38,205 |
| Pocahontas County | 231 | 3,174 | $29,606 |
| Taylor County | 223 | 2,611 | $57,857 |
| Barbour County | 217 | 3,120 | $55,019 |
| Roane County | 215 | 1,995 | $42,813 |
| McDowell County | 213 | 2,253 | $43,332 |
| Ritchie County | 188 | 2,893 | $45,877 |
| Lincoln County | 172 | 1,612 | $37,364 |
| Monroe County | 171 | 1,184 | $39,601 |
| Summers County | 162 | 1,585 | $36,187 |
| Tucker County | 159 | 1,927 | $42,072 |
| Pendleton County | 140 | 1,030 | $38,740 |
| Pleasants County | 125 | 2,161 | $64,581 |
| Tyler County | 122 | 1,311 | $57,148 |
| Webster County | 113 | 1,030 | $39,789 |
| Gilmer County | 102 | 846 | $38,480 |
| Calhoun County | 86 | 801 | $53,619 |
| Clay County | 82 | 898 | $38,102 |
| Doddridge County | 69 | 931 | $64,742 |
| Wirt County | 52 | 473 | $38,245 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023