Maine Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in Maine.
- Employer establishments
- 43,345
- 2023
- Employees
- 548,469
- New applications, 12 months
- 16,156
- +14.3% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 5,062 | 108,627 | $63,637 |
| Retail trade | 6,039 | 85,258 | $38,655 |
| Manufacturing | 1,700 | 57,987 | $64,608 |
| Accommodation and food services | 4,362 | 54,076 | $34,181 |
| Professional and technical services | 3,662 | 35,770 | $87,994 |
| Construction | 5,826 | 31,259 | $66,687 |
| Finance and insurance | 1,897 | 31,048 | $89,404 |
| Administrative and support services | 2,475 | 24,812 | $46,460 |
| Other services | 3,840 | 19,559 | $40,834 |
| Educational services | 562 | 18,783 | $40,252 |
| Wholesale trade | 1,395 | 17,685 | $81,916 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 1,284 | 17,554 | $58,334 |
| Management of companies | 191 | 14,890 | $84,055 |
| Information | 817 | 9,398 | $70,634 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 943 | 8,203 | $34,790 |
| Real estate and rental | 2,162 | 8,043 | $55,249 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 933 | 2,777 | $55,348 |
| Utilities | 126 | 2,462 | $112,754 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 25 | 236 | $73,233 |
Total annual payroll: $32.09B
Largest public companies in Maine
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Idexx Laboratories IncIDXX | $4.3B | $1.06B |
| 2 | WEX Inc.WEX | $2.66B | $304.1M |
| 3 | Bar Harbor BanksharesBHB | $209.5M | $36.92M |
| 4 | First Bancorp, IncFNLC | $160.3M | $34.39M |
| 5 | Camden National CorpCAC | $41.74M | $65.16M |
| 6 | Synergy CHC Corp.SNYRQ | $30.38M | -$12.34M |
| 7 | Immucell CorpICCC | $27.64M | -$1.04M |
| 8 | ASA Gold & Precious Metals LtdASA | Not reported | Not reported |
| 9 | Elmet Group Co.ELMT | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in Maine
22 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bangor Savings Bank | $7.74B | $5.72B | 72 |
| 2 | The Camden National Bank | $6.94B | $5.59B | 74 |
| 3 | Northeast Bank | $5.23B | $3.73B | 9 |
| 4 | Bar Harbor Bank & Trust | $4.73B | $3.86B | 62 |
| 5 | First National Bank | $3.18B | $2.68B | 18 |
| 6 | Maine Community Bank | $2.98B | $2.3B | 23 |
| 7 | Machias Savings Bank | $2.67B | $2.27B | 16 |
| 8 | Kennebunk Savings Bank | $2.17B | $1.68B | 17 |
| 9 | Norway Savings Bank | $2.16B | $1.57B | 25 |
| 10 | Kennebec Savings Bank | $1.87B | $1.41B | 8 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 14,226
- Power units
- 47,386
- Drivers
- 43,050
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 16,156 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 92 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (+33.3% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cumberland County | 12,242 | 190,022 | $65,672 |
| York County | 5,914 | 56,640 | $55,753 |
| Penobscot County | 4,222 | 60,749 | $52,184 |
| Kennebec County | 3,318 | 49,617 | $53,915 |
| Androscoggin County | 2,877 | 42,629 | $54,194 |
| Hancock County | 2,397 | 17,387 | $57,207 |
| Aroostook County | 1,903 | 19,837 | $47,847 |
| Knox County | 1,823 | 14,502 | $52,646 |
| Lincoln County | 1,383 | 9,608 | $45,677 |
| Oxford County | 1,381 | 14,143 | $49,082 |
| Somerset County | 1,211 | 12,763 | $55,986 |
| Sagadahoc County | 1,011 | 14,590 | $57,065 |
| Waldo County | 1,003 | 9,273 | $54,691 |
| Franklin County | 878 | 8,625 | $44,524 |
| Washington County | 845 | 7,475 | $48,967 |
| Piscataquis County | 465 | 5,041 | $41,690 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023