Mississippi Business Data
Businesses, industries, public companies, banks, trucking companies, new business applications and bankruptcies in Mississippi.
- Employer establishments
- 60,465
- 2023
- Employees
- 956,079
- New applications, 12 months
- 64,117
- +32.7% vs. prior 12 months
Industries
Employer businesses in 2023
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Industry | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health care and social assistance | 7,038 | 168,795 | $54,162 |
| Manufacturing | 1,981 | 146,261 | $60,075 |
| Retail trade | 11,303 | 136,728 | $31,597 |
| Accommodation and food services | 6,301 | 134,483 | $21,481 |
| Administrative and support services | 2,510 | 57,300 | $34,262 |
| Transportation and warehousing | 2,307 | 51,992 | $52,464 |
| Construction | 4,169 | 43,724 | $67,656 |
| Wholesale trade | 2,512 | 40,364 | $66,998 |
| Other services | 6,523 | 37,931 | $32,874 |
| Finance and insurance | 4,519 | 34,515 | $75,412 |
| Professional and technical services | 4,621 | 33,481 | $63,284 |
| Educational services | 591 | 14,531 | $31,654 |
| Information | 1,087 | 11,896 | $60,716 |
| Real estate and rental | 2,526 | 10,851 | $49,605 |
| Utilities | 556 | 8,946 | $96,882 |
| Arts, entertainment and recreation | 701 | 8,881 | $24,486 |
| Management of companies | 268 | 7,430 | $90,731 |
| Agriculture, forestry and fishing | 593 | 4,527 | $54,368 |
| Mining, oil and gas | 261 | 3,306 | $82,608 |
Total annual payroll: $45.46B
Largest public companies in Mississippi
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CAL-Maine Foods IncCALM | $2.91B | $316.7M |
| 2 | Hancock Whitney CorpHWC | $1.61B | $486.1M |
| 3 | Renasant CorpRNST | $1.26B | $181.3M |
| 4 | Trustmark CorpTRMK | $948.6M | $224.1M |
| 5 | Eastgroup Properties IncEGP | $721.3M | $257.5M |
| 6 | Citizens Holding CoCIZN | $49.28M | $1.85M |
| 7 | Peoples Financial CorpPFBX | Not reported | $3.91M |
| 8 | Entergy Mississippi, LLCEMP | Not reported | Not reported |
Banks headquartered in Mississippi
57 FDIC-insured banks
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Bank | Total assets | Deposits | Offices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hancock Whitney Bank | $36.33B | $29.88B | 186 |
| 2 | Renasant Bank | $26.99B | $22.17B | 266 |
| 3 | Trustmark Bank | $19.19B | $16.22B | 181 |
| 4 | BankPlus | $8.38B | $7.35B | 74 |
| 5 | Community Bank of Mississippi | $5.09B | $4.62B | 57 |
| 6 | BankFirst Financial Services | $3.31B | $2.83B | 51 |
| 7 | Guaranty Bank and Trust Company | $3.07B | $2.65B | 42 |
| 8 | Planters Bank & Trust Company | $2.71B | $2.28B | 33 |
| 9 | The Citizens National Bank of Meridian | $1.89B | $1.63B | 29 |
| 10 | The Citizens Bank of Philadelphia, Mississippi | $1.56B | $1.32B | 26 |
Trucking companies
Carriers in this state- Active carriers
- 12,651
- Power units
- 55,733
- Drivers
- 56,317
New businesses and bankruptcies
- 64,117 new business applications in the 12 months through September 2026.
- 234 business bankruptcy cases in the 12 months ending June 2026 (+15.8% from a year earlier).
Counties
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hinds County | 4,878 | 84,440 | $53,807 |
| Harrison County | 4,368 | 74,300 | $48,023 |
| Rankin County | 4,083 | 62,811 | $50,472 |
| Madison County | 3,489 | 55,061 | $54,641 |
| DeSoto County | 3,349 | 63,252 | $43,895 |
| Lee County | 2,550 | 47,607 | $50,770 |
| Jackson County | 2,358 | 44,996 | $57,680 |
| Lauderdale County | 1,754 | 27,472 | $45,565 |
| Forrest County | 1,741 | 32,739 | $51,889 |
| Lamar County | 1,505 | 19,611 | $43,444 |
| Lowndes County | 1,440 | 20,572 | $55,256 |
| Lafayette County | 1,435 | 19,206 | $43,942 |
| Jones County | 1,306 | 23,634 | $47,057 |
| Washington County | 1,011 | 12,297 | $39,920 |
| Oktibbeha County | 978 | 12,997 | $36,648 |
| Warren County | 942 | 14,647 | $46,089 |
| Pearl River County | 894 | 8,948 | $38,256 |
| Pike County | 879 | 12,937 | $37,783 |
| Hancock County | 850 | 8,827 | $49,139 |
| Lincoln County | 810 | 11,675 | $43,857 |
| Alcorn County | 766 | 10,564 | $42,620 |
| Adams County | 713 | 9,588 | $41,124 |
| Bolivar County | 709 | 8,073 | $47,465 |
| Leflore County | 653 | 10,663 | $41,238 |
| Monroe County | 600 | 8,352 | $46,448 |
| Panola County | 579 | 8,911 | $43,168 |
| Marion County | 560 | 8,596 | $54,099 |
| Pontotoc County | 540 | 12,209 | $36,345 |
| Union County | 536 | 10,790 | $47,968 |
| Grenada County | 532 | 8,367 | $44,777 |
| Coahoma County | 505 | 4,931 | $43,118 |
| Neshoba County | 495 | 10,665 | $58,271 |
| Prentiss County | 482 | 5,563 | $40,716 |
| Marshall County | 475 | 7,708 | $53,286 |
| Scott County | 458 | 11,161 | $42,073 |
| Simpson County | 444 | 5,608 | $37,539 |
| Copiah County | 440 | 5,524 | $38,742 |
| Sunflower County | 406 | 6,028 | $40,351 |
| Itawamba County | 400 | 5,304 | $41,791 |
| Tishomingo County | 398 | 5,065 | $41,313 |
| Tate County | 389 | 3,941 | $36,705 |
| Tippah County | 382 | 6,407 | $41,728 |
| Winston County | 367 | 5,518 | $49,965 |
| Yazoo County | 359 | 4,104 | $43,396 |
| Wayne County | 350 | 4,711 | $40,507 |
| George County | 349 | 3,927 | $40,147 |
| Attala County | 345 | 4,585 | $43,093 |
| Clay County | 340 | 4,835 | $43,364 |
| Covington County | 328 | 4,434 | $38,588 |
| Leake County | 320 | 5,160 | $34,896 |
| Chickasaw County | 318 | 4,805 | $36,931 |
| Newton County | 315 | 4,053 | $46,955 |
| Stone County | 306 | 3,598 | $42,482 |
| Calhoun County | 224 | 1,702 | $39,074 |
| Clarke County | 224 | 2,077 | $37,160 |
| Holmes County | 208 | 1,857 | $41,529 |
| Jasper County | 207 | 3,490 | $54,459 |
| Walthall County | 205 | 1,985 | $36,027 |
| Montgomery County | 199 | 2,012 | $37,729 |
| Amite County | 197 | 1,551 | $42,669 |
| Tunica County | 184 | 5,340 | $42,895 |
| Lawrence County | 182 | 2,018 | $58,254 |
| Noxubee County | 177 | 1,606 | $43,052 |
| Yalobusha County | 169 | 2,017 | $39,781 |
| Webster County | 167 | 1,712 | $37,248 |
| Smith County | 159 | 2,123 | $52,446 |
| Tallahatchie County | 152 | 1,407 | $44,701 |
| Humphreys County | 132 | 1,426 | $36,585 |
| Perry County | 132 | 1,629 | $53,365 |
| Franklin County | 131 | 1,064 | $47,653 |
| Choctaw County | 130 | 1,486 | $47,739 |
| Greene County | 128 | 1,024 | $58,282 |
| Jefferson Davis County | 123 | 1,531 | $47,790 |
| Wilkinson County | 120 | 1,310 | $39,000 |
| Carroll County | 109 | 627 | $33,142 |
| Kemper County | 101 | 979 | $34,756 |
| Claiborne County | 95 | 1,817 | $80,265 |
| Sharkey County | 95 | 655 | $39,879 |
| Quitman County | 91 | 573 | $33,651 |
| Benton County | 64 | 1,063 | $44,865 |
| Jefferson County | 54 | 547 | $46,073 |
| Issaquena County | 17 | 71 | $54,718 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, SEC, FDIC, FMCSA and the U.S. Courts · Last updated 12/31/2023